Taedium Edax Rerum

If there’s a bright center of the Internet, you’re on the blog that it’s farthest from.

Refresh Your Recommendations

Posted by Doug on January 4, 2009

Not interested. Not interested. Not interested. I own it. Not interested. Not interested. I own it. Fix this; don’t use for recommendations; close window. Not interested. I own it. Not interested. Not interested. Refresh your recommendations.

I really don’t understand how Amazon comes up with their recommendations.  A lot of times, it is pretty obvious: buying, say, volume 33 of the Naruto manga will put volume 34 on there.  That makes sense.  I’ve bought Azumanga Daioh and Bleach, so they suggest Fruits Basket and Fullmetal Alchemist.  Okay, I can understand that; indeed, I might buy the Fullmetal Alchemist manga yet. But Fruits Basket?

Not interested.  Refresh your recommendations.

Far more frequently, though, it just seems random.  Really, who thinks that because I bought volume 4 of Megatokyo, I therefore would be interested in the Watchmen graphic novel?  (The answer is, of course, “a dumb computer program,” but the question really was rhetorical.)  That’s not the most egregious example, either: because I bought Genshiken on DVD, they recommend Scott Pilgrim.  Based on my considerable knowledge of the former and my superficial knowledge of the latter, these two have nothing in common.  Different media, different style, different origins, different subject.  It’s like recommending someone try a taco because they bought a calendar.

Not interested.  Not interested.  Not interested.  Not interested.  Not interested.  Not interested.  Not interested.  Not interested. Refresh your recommendations.

I really don’t understand why I bother with even looking at their recommendations, either.  If I think about it, it’s like turning on the TV just to watch the commercials.  I guess I have this expectation that they might actually recommend something I a) was interested in, b) didn’t already own, c) had forgotten about, and d) was willing to buy with my limited amount of credit.

Not interested.  I own it.  I own it.  Fix this; don’t use for recommendations; close window. Not interested.  Not interested.  I own it.  Not interested.  Not interested.  Fix this; don’t use for recommendations; close window.  Refresh your recommendations.

More Chobits?  I’ve already indicated that I am not interested in volumes 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, and 8 of the manga, nor am I intereted in any of three different artbooks, nor am I interested in the DVD release of the same.  Why do they still recommend volume 7?  I recognize that the AI in this recommendations systems is minimal at best and far more likely nonexistent, but this is the 21st century.  It should know how to take a hint.

Not interested.  Refresh your recommendations.

Ooh, this is interesting: little statuettes of the girls from Full Metal Panic! $36 for a six-inch-tall Kaname and a four-inch-tall Tessa?  Not on my budget.  More xxxHOLic?  This series is getting to be like Chobits—no matter how many times I check the little “not interested” box, they keep recommending it.  Maybe I’m just really, really bored, and the only interesting thing I can think of to do is tell Amazon how I’m not interested in well over half of everything they recommend, and that I already own most of the rest.

Not interested.  Not interested.  I own it.  I own it.  Not interested.  I own it.  Not interested.  Refresh your recommendations.

It is unlikely I will buy anything today—I spent more money ordering manga off Amazon yesterday than I probably should have.  Still, it never hurts to check, and I am really, really bored.  The repetitive nature of going through the recommendations list is hypnotising.  I realize I’ve been doing this for over three hours. Sweet Haruhi, I need to get a life.

Not interested.  I own it.  Fix this; don’t use for recommendations; close window.  Not interested.  Not interested.  I own it.  Refresh recommendations.

Oh, I should have just kept my mouth shut.  Chobits volume 4.  I totally should have seen that one coming.

Not interested.  Refresh your recommendations.

Leave a Reply

 
