Taedium Edax Rerum

If there’s a bright center of the Internet, you’re on the blog that it’s farthest from.

X-Men Origins: Wolverine

Posted by Doug on December 15, 2008

The first three X-Men movies were good: there was some great acting (Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellan stand out in my mind), enjoyably over-the-top action sequences (most of which involved Wolverine), and social commentary that was no more anvilicious than necessary (the minority-rights themes, especially). Oh, and I liked the way Magneto, one of the major villainous-types, is portrayed, not merely as a gratuitously evil-for-evil’s-sake Chaotic Evil caricature, but an individual who actually has something of an understandable reason why he’s doing what he’s doing.

In any case, I’m looking forward to this new X-Men movie, due out on May 1st. I’m just glad that it is going to have Gambit in it, not because I know anything about the character, but just so that the “THEY SHUD HAEV GAMBIT INSTEAD OF WOLFERINE! WOLFEREEN SUCKS!!!!!1!” fanboys can chill.

One Response to “X-Men Origins: Wolverine

  1. Kevin said

    Yeah, I can’t wait for this movie. I’m also glad to see Gambit in it. I hope the dude who is playing him, does a good job. I read that the actor never heard of Gambit before he was chosen for the role. WOW

    Oh yea, please help my friends and I resolve one of our many arguements at:

    http://thetossup.wordpress.com/

    I’d really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

 
