Taedium Edax Rerum

If there’s a bright center of the Internet, you’re on the blog that it’s farthest from.

Gunshin

Posted by Yamane Ishi on November 2, 2008

Gunshin-God of War, war hero

For about ten years now I’ve wanted to build a computer. For whatever reasons, usually lack of money, I was unable to do so until very recently. A couple of months ago I had some trouble with my Sony Vaio laptop, Ryuujin, to solve these problems I wiped the hard drive in an attempt to install Windows XP on it. For some reason Xp’s setup desk would not recognize the hard drive when I booted from the dvd so I had to use the recovery disk to put Vista back on. In the process of doing all that I remembered how much I love messing with computers, I’d love to call it hacking but I’m not that knowledgeable about computers. So I set out looking to build me a computer, I would go online and price parts and have my newegg cart full then decide against it. To tell the truth I was nervous, “What if I get the wrong parts and they don’t work together?” I’d ask myself. Finally I came to the decision that I’d start with a graphics card and try to build around it. So I went to NVIDIA’s website and looked for a card I felt I could afford and still be a good card, instead I found something I could afford and be a great card. The EVGA GeForce 9800 GX2 Video Card, only $279.99, “not bad” I thought.

Next I had to find a motherboard to put the card in and newegg recommended the EVGA nforce 780i SLI Motherboard, I would have went with the 790i but it was more than I wanted to spend.

The motherboard then dictated the cpu socket so I found the Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Processor for $189.99.

The ram is CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) for $79.99.

I found a LG Blue-Ray burner for $219.99 and it also play HD-DVDs which I have a few of.

LG Black 6X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 6X Blu-ray DVD-ROM
LG Black 6X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 6X Blu-ray DVD-ROM

I bought the power supply just because I wanted to be sure I had enough power. I still find it funny that the graphics card needs two power plugs.

ZALMAN ZM850-HP 850W
ZALMAN ZM850-HP 850W

The case I got because I like blue and black and it didn’t come with a power supply. The hard drive is a 1TB Western Digital from Best Buy.

APEVIA X-TELSTAR-JR S-Type
APEVIA X-TELSTAR-JR S-Type

Thus Gunshin was born.

2 Responses to “Gunshin”

  1. Doug said

    An interesting approach–knowing less than you on the subject, I would have been tempted to start with the processor, and build around that, rather than start with the video card.

  2. Gunshin said

    […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt […]

Leave a Reply

 
