Taedium Edax Rerum

If there’s a bright center of the Internet, you’re on the blog that it’s farthest from.

“Yūhi wo Miteiruka?” by AKB48

Posted by Doug on October 17, 2008

I have no clue what they’re singing about. My proficiency with the Japanese language is limited to konnichiwa and itadakimasu and dattebayo and maybe a dozen other simple phrases, tops. Of course, that doesn’t stop me from liking Japanese music. Heck, I like music better when I can’t understand it, when the language barrier turns it into an audio abstract, and I can listen to the musical quality more or less unburdened by any actual content to the sounds.

However, this tends to make singing along difficult and/or embarrassing, because I know I’m getting the words horribly, horribly wrong, and I just know that any moment, some Japanese person is going to come waltzing around the corner, and laugh his or her backside off at my atrocious mangling of their native tongue. Either that or they’ll kick my ass because they think I’m making some disparaging remarks about their mother.

Of course, that doesn’t stop me from singing along, either.

Leave a Reply

 
