Taedium Edax Rerum

If there’s a bright center of the Internet, you’re on the blog that it’s farthest from.

Eighty-One Days of Anime

Posted by Doug on October 16, 2008

I’m moving residences soon, and as a part of the boxing-everything-up routine, I sorted out my anime collection, and made a list of everything I own. At least, I hope it’s everything, but no doubt some more DVDs will pop up.

Anime Collection Anime Collection

I have 388 DVDs in my collection. If you estimate four episodes to a disc, and twenty-five minutes to an episode, these 388 DVDs represent 646 hours 40 minutes worth of anime. If I were to watch anime for eight hours a day, it would take me 81 days to finish it all.

What’s in there, you ask? Here we go: AD Police, Agent Aika, Ah My Goddess, Ah My Goddess: Flights of Fancy, Animatrix, All-Purpose Cultural Catgirl Nuku Nuku, All-Purpose Cultural Catgirl Nuku Nuku Dash, Appleseed, Azumanga Daioh, Bleach, Blood+, Bubblegum Crisis, Burn Up Excess, Cowboy Bebop, Coyote Ragtime Show, Cromartie High School, Eureka Seven, Excel Saga, Fate Stay Night, Final Fantasy Advent Children, Final Fantasy Spirits Within, Final Fantasy Unlimited, FLCL, Full Metal Panic, Full Metal Panic Fumoffu, Full Metal Panic Second Raid, Galaxy Angel, Gankutsuou, Genshiken, Get Backers, Ghost in the Shell, Ghost in the Shell 2: Innocence, Ghost in the Shell Stand Alone Complex, Ghost in the Shell Stand Alone Complex 2nd Gig, Ghost in the Shell Stand Alone Complex Solid State Society, Gundam SEED, Gundress, Gunparade March, Gunxsword, Gurren Lagann, The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya, His and Hers Circumstances, Infinite Ryvius, Inuyasha, Jinki Extend, Kiddy Grade, Kite, Legend of Black Heaven, Love Hina, Lucky Star, Magical Shopping Arcade Abenobashi, Magikano, Martian Successor Nadesico, Mezzo DSA, Miami Guns, My-Otome, My-Hime, Nausicaa, Neo Ranga, Neon Genesis Evangelion, New Dominion Tank Police, Noir, Nurse Witch Komugi, Origin: Spirits of the Past, Peacemaker, Perfect Blue, The Place Promised in our Early Days, Please Teacher, Princess Mononoke, Rahxephon, Read or Die, Rescue Me Mave-Chan, Sakura Wars, Samurai 7, Samurai Champloo, Speed Grapher, Stellvia, Tenchi Muyo, Tokyo Majin, Witch Hunter Robin, World of Narue, Yukikaze, and Yumeria.

Assuming I spent an average of $15 a DVD (some I paid $30 apiece for, some I got in boxed sets of four to seven DVDs for $40 to $100), this is $5,820 worth of anime.

Money (mostly) well spent.

Leave a Reply

 
