Taedium Edax Rerum

If there’s a bright center of the Internet, you’re on the blog that it’s farthest from.

Anime vs Movies

Posted by Yamane Ishi on October 14, 2008

I don’t know, maybe it’s just me, but the more new movies come out the less I am interested in them. I fact the only ones I seem to be interested in lately are ether comic book or video game related, there that or have a deep si-fi or a wild fantasy theme to them. I think that this is a product of watching Anime. I mean how many movies can compare. Most new movies just seem to be the same old drivel wrapped in a new package. Now granted there is probably not an Anime out there that doesn’t have elements from other ones in it but they seem to keep the story and setting fresh. The only complaint that I can think of about a lot of Anime is that they have a moral that they seek to drive into your head with a fifty pound sledge. Kinda like the hole pacifism theme in Mobile Suit Gundam Wing or the fact that the crew of the Nadesico seemed to have a problem once them found out that there where fighting humans even though those very same humans had no problem fighting them. That and those damn Lacus Cline songs. Anime just does a better job of diverting my attention away from the mind numbing boredom of reality.

2 Responses to “Anime vs Movies”

  1. Doug said

    I agree—not too many American movies catch my attention (not many at all). Personally, the appeal of anime (and manga, and Japanese movies) seems to be tied to the culture that permeates every bit of it. Anime repeats the same tropes and clichés over and over again, too, but it is a somewhat different set of tropes and clichés, and they tend to handle them in their own unique way.

  2. Mystery said

    Well, to me I think that any shows is good if it has a good advise to it.. But, I kinda have to agree.. Watching japanese anime is much more fun than american cartoons..

Leave a Reply

 
